TCU Hosts Ninth Annual Big 12 MBA Case Competition

Not all competition in the Big 12 takes place on the field. The Neeley School of Business at TCU is proud to host the Ninth Annual Big 12 MBA Case Competition, sponsored by Deloitte. The event takes place on the TCU campus Thursday, March 26, through Saturday, March 28.

The 2015 Case Competition marks the first time business schools from all Big 12 schools are represented. Teams will work on a case for Deloitte and for the first time, the winning team will be take home the Championship Cup, which will be passed each year from one winning school to the next.

Winning teams receive cash prizes: $5,000 for first place; $3,000 for second place; and $1,000 for third place. In addition, to the three finalists receiving trophies and prize monies, the following individuals and/or teams will be recognized at the awards banquet at Joe T. Garcia's Restaurant in Fort Worth:

  • Best Presentation Management
  • Best Financial Analysis
  • Best Q&A Management

The competition kicks off with cocktails and team photos at 5:30PM Thursday, followed by a welcome dinner and address by Bill Cron, Senior Associate Dean of Graduate Programs, Neeley School of Business at TCU, and concluding remarks by Bill Wempe, Executive Director, TCU MBA Program.

Friday begins with team prep time followed by a Q&A with Deloitte Consulting. Competition gets underway Saturday morning. The first three rounds of presentations take place between 9:15AM and noon. Finalist presentations start at 2PM, and awards will be presented at 7:45PM Saturday. 

Times are subject to change, with the exception of the finalists’ presentations and the awards dinner. For a full schedule of events, click here.

The Neeley School is pleased to welcome John Levis, Deloitte, Partner, Global Innovation Leader and Sponsor; and Steve Pace, Big 12 Conference Associate Commissioner and CFO, as special guests at Saturday’s awards dinner.

This year’s panel of Case Competition judges includes:

Kevin Buehler (retired)
Matt Oerding

Bell Helicopter: 
Ray Lamas 
Cory Hitte

Tom Hund

Dave K 
Harvey Michaels 
Jaco Van Eden 
Eziah Syed 
Kelly Herod 
Lori Ward - Deloitte 
Amanda Hale 

Kyle Martin

Half Price Books:
Kathy Doyle Thomas

Dennis Mullahy 
Jeff Martin

Occidental Petroleum Corp: 
Ken Huffman (retired), TCU Board of Trustees member

Radio Shack: 
Joe Macnaca

Sean Arena

Santander USA: 
John Zutter

The Neeley School and TCU welcomes all Case Competition team members and advisors from visiting schools. We look forward to another year of top-notch presentations!
Access Archives >>