May 20, 2013

In-Mu Haw Named 2013 Alumni Professor of the Year

Haw In MuAccounting Professor In-Mu Haw has been chosen as the 2013 Neeley Alumni Professor of the Year. Haw joined the Neeley School of Business at TCU in 1990 and is the J. Vaughn & Evelyne H. Wilson Professor of Business.

“It is quite exciting and personally rewarding to teach our bright and intelligent students at the Neeley School,” Haw said. “I am impressed with students’ seemingly unceasing level of enthusiasm and interest in learning.”

As the 2013 Neeley Alumni Professor of the Year, Haw will speak at Neeley alumni events around the country throughout the 2013-14 academic year.

Former students praised Haw’s teaching style and knowledge.

Erin Stover, EMBA ’12, global product line manager for Corning Cable Systems, said: “Dr. Haw’s challenging classroom was one of my favorite experiences during the EMBA Program. He layers mechanics, theory and real-world application, exploring all angles of the problem and providing each student the opportunity to absorb the concept. I apply the lessons he taught us every day.”

Kathy Novak Johnson, EMBA ’12, director IP marketing for BNSF, said Haw’s “easy-to-understand approach allowed non-finance types to confidently apply [finance skills] in day-to-day work activities.”

Ken Stephens, EMBA ’11, senior vice president of cloud services for Xerox, said Haw is an “impactful teacher focusing on what is relevant in the market today. His efforts with activity-based costing are particularly insightful.”

“I enjoy my scholarly work and interactions with students with hope that they discover their hidden talents and strengths and gain confidence,” Haw said. “They are my lifelong friends and the future business leaders of our society, through whom I enrich my life as a teacher and scholar.”

An expert in accounting, Haw holds a Ph.D. from the University of Alabama. He has been recognized numerous times for his teaching and research, including EMBA Outstanding Professor of the Year seven times, Neeley Graduate Teaching Award, Neeley Undergraduate Teaching Award, TCU Deans’ Teaching Award, and TCU Deans’ Research and Creativity Award. He has published more than 40 articles in academic journals, including many top-tier articles, and serves as co-editor of The International Journal of Accounting.  Haw has held visiting faculty positions at several international universities, including the Chinese University of Hong Kong and China European International Business School.

Neeley alumni began the Neeley Alumni Professor of the Year award in 2006 to pay tribute to the faculty members who enriched their overall experience at the Neeley School. Previous recipients of the honor include Bob Vigeland, Bill Moncrief, Rob Rhodes, Chris Barry, Larry Lockwood, Joe Lipscomb and Robert Boatler. 


Elaine Cole
Public Relations Manager
Neeley School of Business at TCU