March 15, 2013

Moncrief Earns 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award from American Marketing Association

Moncrief BillDr. William Moncrief, the Charles F. and Alann P. Bedford Professor of International Business and former senior associate dean of undergraduate programs at the Neeley School of Business at TCU, has been awarded the Selling and Sales Management Lifetime Achievement Award by the sales special interest group of the American Marketing Association. The award is given each year to an outstanding scholar who has made meaningful contributions to the field of academic sales by consistently publishing sales research in top journals, being recognized for teaching excellence, encouraging sales as a career choice, fostering the professional development of others and adding appreciably to the understanding of a sales topic through scholarship.

“Bill Moncrief represents what is best about our profession, and he is universally respected by his colleagues,” C. Shane Hunt, associate professor of marketing at Arkansas State University and vice chair of the AMA Sales and Selling SIG, said. “His research, teaching and service have advanced our discipline and made the lives of numerous colleagues and students better for his efforts.”

Moncrief has published numerous scholarly articles in the area of sales management in premier journals including Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Business Research, Journal of Academy of Marketing Science andJournal of Personal Selling and Sales Management. He was awarded the Top Reviewer Award in 2006 from the Journal of Personal Selling and Sales Management. He has served on the editorial boards of Journal of Personal Selling and Sales Management, Journal of Marketing Education and Journal of Marketing Theory & Practice, and as a reviewer for Journal of Marketing andJournal of Academy of Marketing Science.

Moncrief joined TCU 30 years ago. His leadership at the Neeley School includes serving as interim dean from 1999-2000 and senior associate dean from 2000-2012. He currently is chair of the marketing department, a position he also held from 1988-1997. His awards include the 2010 University Honors Professor of the Year, Chancellor’s Award for Distinguished Research and Teaching 2010, Neeley Alumni Professor of the Year 2009, Order of Omega Top Professor 2009, TCU Dean’s Award for Meritorious Research 2005, Michael Baer Mentoring Award in 2004, and many more.    

Established in 1999, this is the third AMA Lifetime Achievement Award to go to a marketing professor from the Neeley School. Previous winners include Bill Cron (2012) and Dave Cravens (2002). TCU is the only university with multiple honorees.


Elaine Cole
PR Manager
Neeley School of Business at TCU