January 24, 2012

Neeley Faculty Members Chosen to Serve on Boards

Several Neeley School faculty members have been selected to serve in leadership roles for organizations in their field.

Nix Nancy

Dr. Nancy Nix has been elected chair of the board of directors of the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP), the preeminent worldwide professional association dedicated to the advancement and dissemination of research and knowledge on supply chain management. Dr. Nix is professor of Supply Chain Practice and executive director of the Executive MBA program at the Neeley School. CSCMP has more than 8,500 members from 67 countries representing industry, government and academia.

Smilor Ray

Dr. Ray Smilor, the Robert and Edith Schumacher Executive Faculty Fellow in Innovation and Technology, has been elected as director-at-large for the United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship® (USASBE®). Brad Hancock, director of the Neeley Entrepreneurship Center, has been appointed to the board as vice president of events and programs. Dr. Curt Moore, assistant professor of Management, Entrepreneurship and Leadership, has been elected as chair of the special interest group for international entrepreneurship. The USASBE® is the largest independent, professional, academic organization in the world dedicated to advancing the discipline of entrepreneurship. 


Dr. Joe Lipscomb, finance professor and director of the LKCM Center for Financial Studies, has been elected director of finance for the American Real Estate Society, an association of real estate thought leaders. Members are drawn from academia and the real estate profession in the United States and internationally. The society is dedicated to producing and disseminating knowledge related to real estate decision making and the functioning of real estate markets.

Callaghan Sandy

Dr. Sandra Callaghan, professor of accounting, is president-elect of the American Taxation Association (ATA), which fosters the dissemination and publication of information on taxation to promote tax educational curriculum, education-related materials, graduate tax programs and tax accreditation matters, and promotes research activities involving tax policy, tax proposals and tax legislation. The ATA also encourages interaction between academics and tax practitioners.

Erekson Homer sm

Dean Homer Erekson serves on the Initial Accreditation Committee for the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB). The committee oversees the processes related to business schools applying for accreditation to ensure consistency in the application of the standards and equity of recommendations across peer review teams and reviewed programs. The Initial Accreditation Committee reviews and, if appropriate, accepts Standards Alignment Plans forwarded by the PreAccreditation Committee, monitors the implementation of the accreditation process, and oversees the initial accreditation process including the development of the self-evaluation documents and the peer review team visit.


Elaine Cole
PR Manager
Neeley School of Business at TCU