The Ralph Lowe Energy Institute launched TCU Legends in Energy in 2023 as a way to showcase the entrepreneurs, wildcatters, deal makers and game changers who have left their mark in the energy space. The inaugural class included Barry Davis, Mary Ralph Lowe, Trevor Rees-Jones and Wil VanLoh and every year the Legends grow. The institute honors their legacies and insights because these leaders not only changed the energy industry, but their universities, their communities and the world.

Section Image: Larry Brogdon, Brad Cunningham and Hunter Enis receiving their awards.

2024 Legends in Energy

March 21, 2024

TCU President Daniel W. Pullin and TCU Head Football Coach Sonny Dykes joined the institute in welcoming the team from Four Sevens Oil Co. to the TCU Legends in Energy. The 2024 class included Larry Brogdon ’72, Brad Cunningham ’89, Hunter Enis ’59 (MA ’63) and the late Dick Lowe (’51) for their work in the Barnett Shale, their innovations with horizontal drilling in urban environments and the impact their work had on energy worldwide.

Four Sevens

Dick Lowe

Section Image: Ann Bluntzer, Mary Ralph Lowe and current student

2023 TCU Legends in Energy

April 27, 2023

The 2023 Legends in Energy class included Barry Davis ’84, Mary Ralph Lowe, Trevor Rees-Jones, and Wil VanLoh.

Barry Davis

Mary Ralph Lowe

Trevor Rees-Jones

Wil VanLoh

Learn More

Current Energy Student with Ann Bluntzer and Barry Davis

TCU Legends in Energy Honorees Celebrated in Inaugural Class of Inspiring Leaders

Barry Davis and six more leaders who have influenced the future of energy and TCU’s prominent role at the forefront of the industry were named to the first TCU Legends in Energy during a moving dinner this spring.

August 03, 2023